• Drake Silver

At the ASCAP Pop Music Awards in 2021, The Weeknd was named Songwriter of the Year.

The Weeknd was voted songwriter of the year at the ASCAP Pop Music Awards for the first time on Tuesday (April 13). For the second year in a row, the event was held virtually.

Both “Blinding Lights” and “Heartless,” which both reached No. 1 on the Billboard Hot 100, won the pop and R&B superstar two most-performed album awards. The Weeknd has now won the ASCAP Awards 13 times. On this week's Billboard Hot 100, "Blinding Lights" spends a record-tying 57th week in the top ten.

Meanwhile, Post Malone's mega hit "Circles" took home the award for song of the year. The song spent 39 weeks in the top ten, a record that was held until "Blinding Lights" beat it. "Circles" was also nominated for Grammys in the categories of album and song of the year. (The Grammys famously passed over "Blinding Lights.") ASCAP authors Louis Bell, Kaan Güneşberk, and Billy Walsh, as well as their publishers Nyan King Music, Sony Music Publishing, and Universal Music Publishing Group, shared the award for "Circles."

For the 14th time since 1988, Warner Chappell Music has been named publisher of the year. Just one publisher has ever beaten the mark: EMI has won 17 times. This year, Warner Chappell won 13 Grammys for "Blinding Lights," "Heartless," "10,000 Hours," "Lose You to Love Me," "Rockstar," "Dance Monkey," and "Break My Heart," among other hits.

With a special video presentation on @ASCAP social media, Paul Williams, ASCAP chairman of the board and founder; Elizabeth Matthews, CEO; and John Titta, executive vice president and chief creative officer, kicked off the event.

Madison Emiko Love and Leland (Brett Leland McLaughlin), co-writers of Ava Max's "Kings & Queens," will take the ASCAP Instagram Live stage on Wednesday (April 14) at 6:00 p.m. ET to tell the story behind their punchy single (co-written by winners Desmond Child, Cirkut and Mimoza).

Maddie & Tae will deliver an exclusive performance of "Die From a Broken Heart" at the social media events. Maddie Marlow, an ASCAP Award-winning songwriter, is part of the pair. (Deric Ruttan and Jonathan Singleton, co-writers, are also winners.)

Mates, fans, and peers will tune in to the festivities starting at 10:00 a.m. ET on Tuesday, April 15 through Thursday, April 15, via @ASCAP on Instagram, Twitter, and Facebook, using the hashtag #ASCAPAwards.

The ASCAP website has a full list of award winners.